You are awesome…

July 27, 2010

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.”
Oscar Wilde

 I loathe phoniness. Nothing gets under my skin more than someone who spends all their life minutes playing a character or a part.  People who pick a stereotype and run with it… well this has always gotten to me.  Maybe this is why it has always bothered me when people give themselves nicknames and go around asking people to call them by said nickname.  It seems so forced and inauthentic. The beauty of a nickname is that it comes from a funny story or it develops over time as a term of endearment, and to give it to yourself is not only sad but phony as well. Anyway, I guess my point to this ramble is that I am starting to change my views on all of this.  When I see phoniness now it is no longer evoking anger or judgment, but pity. I feel bad for these people because they aren’t able to accept that being themselves is enough.  They can’t like themselves enough to introduce themselves to their friends.  Instead they have to put on a personality costume and start the show. How exhausting that must be! It makes me terribly sad when I look at things from this perspective.

This got me to thinking about how I can do my part to make this a more authentic world. I am going to make an effort everyday to make sure I support people and let them know that they have a safe place to show their true selves off when they hang out with me. I want people to know that I am not expecting the “show” but their own true thoughts and quirks. Doesn’t that sound lovely? An effort free zone where we can all let our true selves out for some air… the thought of that makes me relax and feel fuzzy like taking a deep breath and having a good stretch.

Leave a Reply

