Holiday cheer

July 2, 2010

I love holidays.  I love them all. And not even because you get a day off of work.  I love that people feel obligated to get together and play. I love that it’s an excuse to have 13 different dips and you can eat all that dip and polish it off with 6 desserts and call it a good day.  There is no judgment involved.  In fact people actually encourage it and if you aren’t a glutton then something is wrong with you!

Sometimes it is hard for me to accept this mentality actually, as I am a bit obsessive about food.  Food and me… we have a pretty unhealthy relationship.  I have spent the better part of 20 years either on a diet or adamantly proclaiming that I was NOT on a diet and eating myself into oblivion. And do the math there… that is since I was about 10 years old.  That is so ridiculous! It makes me sad to think that there are many others out there that have that “all or nothing” attitude, where food is good or bad. News flash… last I checked pizza and donuts weren’t on an all night crime spree robbing and murdering people, so it can’t be that bad!  Food is food and all food has a place in this world.  Even though I may rant about processed food and chemicals and avoid them like the plague, sometimes a ding dong and a soda find their way into my life.  And this is ok. And so is enjoying a holiday with your family and friends, where you share in special foods and overload your taste buds and tummy with cheese and cookies. Because everything is ok in moderation. Even moderation.

So here is to having a beautiful 4th of July, where we can drink and eat and laugh to our hearts content! May we go to bed with visions of fireworks and friends in our heads and dream of the sweet life, where food is merely our friend.

Leave a Reply

