Meatless Monday continued

January 19, 2010

So after forcing myself to go to the gym after work, I was hardly in the mood to make some elaborate dinner.  As I said earlier, groceries were scarce, so I decided to incorporate all the veggies I did have on hard together.  This started with chopping an onion into rings.  Next I heated a tiny bit of EVOO in a skillet and tossed in the onions along with some mushrooms and sautéed that up. 

While this was cooking I diced a sweet potato and popped that into the microwave for 5 minutes.  When the sweet potato was nice and soft (but not mushy) I threw it into the skillet with the onion and mushrooms.  I added a teeny pat of butter, 2 cloves chopped garlic, a ton of Worcestershire sauce, some cayenne, red pepper, salt and pepper. 

Once this was nicely seasoned and cooked I added a few handfuls of fresh spinach and wilted this down. 

Once the spinach wilted I transferred the mixture to a plate and topped with goat cheese and a bit of salsa.  Lastly I fried up an egg (maintaining a runny yolk) and topped off the veggie mixture.

 YUM! Dinner is served.   This was really fast and delicious and included 4 vegetables!  I love dinners that come together this easily.  I am super satisfied and ready to relax and watch some TV!

Leave a Reply

